Ad Below Title

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are bridal veils out of fashion?

The last real-life wedding I went to, the bride did not wear a traditional veil. And now the bride's of Salem are not either. I am by no means a fashion expert, so I don't know. Are bridal veils no longer a thing??

The style is so individual now, there are so many different looks. Veils are still really popular, but not as much as they once were.

For Kayla It would have been out of place to wear a veil. Nicole’s dress was pretty and simple, a veil would have Been equally out of place. Also her wedding was held at the pub, again it’s really casual. Lani chose a head piece that didn’t obstruct her braids. Ciara is the most likely to have a veil, we’ll see.
    Last edited by Cat women; July 14, 2020, 04:16 PM.

Comment

• eileenregina
      eileenregina commented
      Editing a comment
      Not only that, Nicole was not a first time bride. I thought her knee length dress was perfect and flattering; as you said why would Kayla where a veil with her dress, it would have looked silly. As for Lani, I think her style fit her. None of these weddings were formal. I am sure Ciara will wear a veil though.

This is what I found when I searched the Internet.

- Clearly, nowadays veils have lost most of that symbolism, of course depending on the culture. And, in modern American society, they're not even an essential, or required, part of the ceremony or wedding day. In fact, many brides choose to forgo wearing a veilaltogether. July 2018

Comment

• eileenregina
      eileenregina commented
      Editing a comment
      I learned years ago when my great-grandmother was around that a lot of brides in the middle-class and down range dressed very simply for weddings. Big expensive wedding gowns and veils were usually seen more in the rich and upper class. We are now in a midst of cultural changing. When I was in high school (Catholic) is was a scandal if someone was divorced!